Home again, and a big thank you

Well, I slept in my own bed last night; it’s really nice to be home.  There are so many people I need to thank, and I cannot possibly name them all, but few need special mention – Gillian (my bank manager, logistics organiser, partner, pickmeupper extraordinare, covering all domestic chores in my absence, meeting me in Westport), Karen, my first overnight stop and my farewell breakfast, Graham for driving me to Newry and meeting me in Letterkenny, Mary and Lesley, their map of Ireland and farewell card, Joe, and his offer of accommodation in Belfast, Ian for picking me on the side of the road near Mallow, and for bringing me home, Pat for giving me the time off, Ger L, Paul G, John K, John H, Franko, Brid, Niall B, for picking up the slack in my absence, Sarah and Andrew, Allanah Keelan & Boo, Judy & John, Keith & Elaine, Raymond & Catherine, Nora, Matt & Margaret, AnnMarie, Tricia & Bill, Brian & Jo, Abby & Matt, John W, Margaret McC, John B, Kieran R, Mick B, Ger N, Mags K, Kieran I, Rose C, Noel O’C, David H, Cathal G, Mags C, Brendan McG, Mary McH, Trish McL, Liz and Dave, Andew G, Alan C, Denis B, Eoin O’R, Karen B, stranger Dave, Randy and Ellen Rosenberg from Philadelphia, Shiela and Leslie from Enniskillen, and everyone else who sent me good wishes.

The final stats

Days travelling – 24
Days cycling – 20
Wet days – 11
Distance travelled – 1296.79km
Total height ascended – 9,418m
Total calories burned – 42,189
Falls – 3
Bites/stings – 2

What I missed most

  • good coffee every day
  • my power shower
  • being able to open the wardrobe and have a choice of fresh clothes to wear
  • smokeless fuels, you forget the difference this has made in Dublin
  • having someone pack/unpack for me
  • my laptop

What I will miss now that I’m home

  • comments, texts, mails and general support and encouragement from everyone
  • the wide open spaces
  • starting a new adventure every day
  • being in the outdoors all day (even in the rain)
  • visiting/researching new locations

What I won’t miss

  • the hills, the hills
  • loose dogs barking and chasing me
  • inconsiderate and ignorant drivers
  • token bicycle lanes
  • potholes and poor road surfaces
  • the smell of dirty/damp clothes
  • the uncertainty of where I will sleep/eat when I arrive in a new town
  • the smell of slurry
  • Bruises, blisters, pains

What will be different

  • I’ll certainly be keeping up with the cycling, and keeping fit in general
  • Commuting to work is an option, we’ll have to see.  Starting out on a wet dark morning needs a lot of discipline
  • Lots more hill training
  • A much greater apprciation of what cyclists have to put up with on Ireland’s roads

I’ve updated the Itinerary map, the Best Of (So Far) list, and I’ve added some extra photos to the blog, all up on the right hand side.  I’ve just collected my Farmhouse Apple Pie from Margaret, my mother-in-law, and I’m off to brew a pot of coffee.

Here’s to next year’s adventure

Thanks to one and all, Kieran.

5 Comments »

  1. Gillian said

    There once was a man with a bike
    Who decided to go on a hike
    So he took out two wheels
    And a guidebook for meals
    And every gadget he liked

    Then he cycled the emerald isle
    With some regular dining in style
    He started keeping a log
    That turned into a blog
    And we’d eagerly wait for each file

    Across 13 different counties he’d roam
    Til he’d had enough talking by phone
    So he clicked his heels twice
    Put his blisters on ice
    And said ‘maybe there’s no place like home’

    But what will we do now he’s done
    As bloggers, we’ve had so much fun
    Every day as we joked
    And we ‘sheepishly’ poked
    At each others wit and sarcastic pun

    So it’s back to real life with a bang
    As we give up electrionic slang
    We look forward with cheer
    To the new trip next year
    And say thanks to the man with the …………………..bicycle

    Thanks to everyone for keeping us company LoL Gillian and Sarah 🙂 + 🙂

  2. Welcome home Kieran and well done on a fantastic trip. Thanks also for not rating my breakfast (and lack of coffee) on your 1st morning.

    Enjoy your rest, you deserve it. Not long til your back to work and the stress, but your memories of the open road will keep you going.

    Well done Gillian on the lovely piece of penmanship – its really good. Hope you girls are enjoying having him home.

    Farewell everyone else, we’ll blog next year hopefully.
    K

  3. Brian, Jo, Abi & Matt said

    Hey dude. Well done and welcome home.
    Great achievement, you should be very proud.

    Bought a new coffee machine in your honour, so if you ever discover that the M1 goes further than Lusk then you know where we are. 🙂

  4. John & Judy O'Neill said

    Hi Kieran, welcome home, i am not quite as artistic as Gill in the poetry stakes so i won’t even try to compete with her. hope your blisters are healing now that you have time to rest them sufficiently, i am telling you sudacreme is still the best. hope the apple pie hit the spot. there could be another one as Mum picked all our apples on Saturday and brought them home with her. Jon was delighted with your text yesterday, thanks for remembering him. How are you going to fill your days now? We had a buffet lunch on Saturday for Jon’s birthday and we did a trial run on the food for the Christmas Brunch and it went down very well. That black line around the cost of Ireland looks very, very impressive…….i will sign off now good bye to all the bloggers, what are we going to look at on a daily basis now? even our favourite website of myhome.ie wasn’t as entertaining as this one. last smily face 🙂

  5. Mairead said

    Kieran
    The trip sounds fantastic – I really enjoyed reading the posts, although I was a bit late finding the blog!
    Keep up the cycling 🙂 And the quest for perfect coffee and cake of course…
    Mairéad

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment